Eighth Croatian parliament to be formally dissolved on Friday

The decision of the eighth Croatian legislature to dissolve itself after the Tihomir Oreskovic cabinet ouster and failure of the HDZ party to form a new ruling majority takes effect on Friday, 15 July. 

The enactment of the decision means that constitutional deadlines for a snap parliamentary election start running. An early parliamentary vote must be held within 30 days of the existing parliament dissolution and no later than 60 days.

The early election for the ninth parliament is likely to be held on the first or the second Sunday in September.

The outgoing 151-seat parliament has been in office 200 days, spending 57 days in session.

Deputies come from 19 parties plus 12 independent lawmakers.

Broken down by gender, 121 are male deputies and only 30 female.

Last update: Thu, 14/07/2016 - 18:36

More from Croatia

Helsinki Committee urges govt involvement in fate of post-WWII victims

ZAGREB, Oct 26 (Hina) - The executive board of the Croatian Helsinki Committee for Human Rights (HHO) on Tuesday...

Croatia to deploy one company to Lithuania in 2018 says defence minister

Defence Minister Damir Krsticevic said in Brussels on Wednesday that Croatia would deploy one company of soldiers to...

HNB: Charges against RBA, Sberbank over irregularities in loan conversion

ZAGREB, Oct 26 (Hina) - The Croatian National Bank (HNB) on Wednesday presented the Franak association of debtors...

No decision in INA to close Sisak Refinery

MOL is not planning to supply Croatia from its refineries in Hungary and Slovakia and even Tifon, which is owned by...

Croatian PM meets EC's chief Brexit negotiator

Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic met on Wednesday with the European Commission's chief Brexit negotiator,...