Eighty-five countries compete for foreign-language Oscar

Eighty-five countries are competing for the 2017 foreign-language Oscar, with Yemen submitting an entry for the first time, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences said Tuesday.

Many of the submissions deal with social issues, including Yemen's, “I Am Nojoom, Age 10 and Divorced.”

The film, by director Khadija Al-Salami, highlights the plight of a victim of child marriage in the impoverished, war-torn nation.

Bosnia and Herzegovina chose an examination of a century of European conflict in "Death in Sarajevo" by Danis Tanovic, winner of the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize at this year's Berlin Film Festival.

Luxembourg went with “Voices from Chernobyl” by director Pol Cruchten, based on the book of the same name by Nobel literature prize winner Svetlana Alexievich.

Maren Ade's "Toni Erdmann," a film about a woman whose career path is thrown off course following an unannounced visit from her father, was Germany's entry.

The Academy will announce a shortlist of contenders for the category on January 17 and the final list of five nominees on January 24.

The award ceremony will be held February 26 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

Last update: Wed, 12/10/2016 - 11:46

More from Culture

Interliber to be held in Zagreb 8-13 Nov.

The 39th edition of Interliber, an international book and teaching appliances fair, will take place in the Zagreb...

St. Petersburg's best ballet dancers delight Zagreb audience

The Croatian National Theatre (HNK) on Monday welcomed some of the greatest Russian ballet stars, the leading ballet...

Pula Book Fair to be held in December

The Pula Book Fair will be held in that biggest Istrian city on December 1-11 with the theme "Transantlantic," and...

Croatian Book Month to start on 15 Oct

The Croatian Book Month, a national programme promoting reading as an activity of great social value and the book as...

Bob Dylan wins surprise Nobel Prize in Literature

US folk icon Bob Dylan was the surprise choice for the 2016 Nobel Prize in Literature announced Thursday by the...