Ungrateful guests - Germany's impressive record v tournament hosts

Germany meet hosts France in the semi-finals of Euro 2016 on Thursday and look to extend their record as uncomfortable guests. Since the 1966 World Cup final, which they lost to England playing at home, they have been on an unbeaten run of nine wins against tournament hosts.

Germany matches against tournament hosts since the 1966 defeat:

1972 European Championship semi-final, Antwerp: A double from Gerd Mueller helps West Germany defeat Belgium 2-1 despite a late consolation from Odilon Polleunis. West Germany go on to defeat the USSR 3-0 in the final.

1976 European Championship semi-final, Belgrade: West Germany trails 2-0 to Yugoslavia but fights back to take the game to extra-time with a late equalizer from Dieter Mueller. Mueller then completes a hat-trick deep into the additional period to secure a 4-2 win. Czechoslovakia later defeat West Germany in the final on a penalty shoot-out.

1982 World Cup second group phase, Madrid: West Germany beat Spain 2-1 in the second group phase with goals from Pierre Littbarski and Klaus Fischer to help gain passage into the semi-finals. They eventually lose to Italy in the final.

1986 World Cup quarter-final, San Nicolas de los Garza: West Germany and Mexico play out a goalless draw over 120 minutes before the tie is decided 4-1 on penalties in favour of the Germans. Germany's second successive final, this time to Argentina, ends with a loss.

1992 European Championship semi-final, Stockholm: Playing in the first tournament since German reunification, a double from Karl-Heinz Riedle helps secure a 3-2 win over Sweden. Denmark subsequently shocks Germany 2-0 in the final.

1996 European Championship semi-final, London: An equalizer from Stefan Kunz cancelled out Alan Shearer's early opener for England and set up a penalty shoot-out. Gareth Southgate was the only player to miss from the spot and Germany went on to beat the Czech Republic in the final.

2002 World Cup semi-final, Seoul: A strong performance from Oliver Kahn keeps Germany in the game against South Korea and Michael Ballack scores the only goal. Ballack, suspended for the final, can only watch from the sidelines as a Kahn error paves the way for Brazil to win the final.

2008 European Championship group stage, Vienna: Germany and Austria are both on the brink going into the final match of the group stage which goes the way of the Germans thanks to a thunderbolt from Ballack. Germany reach the final where they lose 1-0 to Spain.

2014 World Cup semi-final, Belo Horizonte: A sensational first half display puts Germany five up at half time against a shell-shocked Brazil on goals from Thomas Mueller, Miroslav Klose, Sami Khedira and a double from Toni Kroos. Andre Schuerrle adds two more in the second half to complete a 7-1 rout and Germany defeat Argentina in the final.

Last update: Tue, 05/07/2016 - 11:27

More from Sport

Minsk to host 2019 European Games

The 2019 European Games will be held in Minsk after the European Olympic Committees (EOC) general assembly approved...

Barcelona smash City with Messi hat-trick, Bayern trounce PSV

Heavyweights Barcelona and Bayern Munich edged towards the knockout stage of the Champions League on Wednesday with...

Two-month suspension for Norwegian skier Johaug over doping

Norwegian cross-country ski star Therese Johaug has been suspended from competition for two months after failing a...

Champions League wins for Real, Dortmund, Leicester

Real Madrid, Borussia Dortmund and Leicester City cruised towards the knockout stage of the Champions League on...

Real Madrid extend contract of playmaker Modric

Real Madrid have extended the contract of veteran Croatian playmaker Luka Modric until 2020, the European champions...