World Footballer of the Year award winners

Lionel Messi and Carli Lloyd were on Monday crowned as the FIFA Ballon d'Or winners for 2015. The following is a list of all men's and women's winners since the FIFA World Player award was introduced in 1991. Men's award: Year Name Country Club(s)

2015 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona

2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Real Madrid 2012 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2011 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2010 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2009 Lionel Messi Argentina Barcelona 2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal Manchester United 2007 Kaka Brazil AC Milan 2006 Fabio Cannavaro Italy Real Madrid/Juventus 2005 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona 2004 Ronaldinho Brazil Barcelona 2003 Zinedine Zidane France Real Madrid 2002 Ronaldo Brazil Real Madrid 2001 Luis Figo Portugal Real Madrid 2000 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus 1999 Rivaldo Brazil Barcelona 1998 Zinedine Zidane France Juventus 1997 Ronaldo Brazil Inter Milan 1996 Ronaldo Brazil Barcelona/PSV Eindhoven 1995 George Weah Liberia AC Milan 1994 Romario Brazil Barcelona 1993 Roberto Baggio Italy Juventus 1992 Marco van Basten Netherlands AC Milan 1991 Lothar Matthaeus Germany Inter Milan Women's award:

2015 Carli Lloyd United States Houston Dash

2014 Nadine Kessler Germany VfL Wolfsburg 2013 Nadine Angerer Germany Brisbane Roar 2012 Abby Wambach United States magicJack 2011 Homare Sawa Japan Inac Kobe Leonessa 2010 Marta Brazil Gold Pride/Santos 2009 Marta Brazil Los Angeles Sol/Santos 2008 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2007 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2006 Marta Brazil Umea IF 2005 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2004 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2003 Birgit Prinz Germany FFC Frankfurt 2002 Mia Hamm United States Washington Freedom 2001 Mia Hamm United States Washington Freedom

Last update: Mon, 11/01/2016 - 20:05

More from Sport

Poll: Most fans would support gay players at clubs

The majority of football fans in Britain would have no issues with their club signing a gay player, according to a...

IOC confirm support for whistleblower Yuliya Stepanova

Russian doping whistleblower Yuliya Stepanova to receive a grant to support her training, an International Olympic...

Hamilton wins US Grand Prix to boost championship chances

Reigning Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton produced a flawless performance to win the United States Grand ...

Manchester City back on top despite 1-1 draw with Southampton

Manchester City went back to the top of the Premier League on Sunday despite a 1-1 draw with Southampton that left...

AC Milan edge Juve 1-0 in dull game

AC Milan edged a dominating but ineffective Juventus to a 1-0 victory Saturday, going second in the Serie A thanks...