The G7: no longer the world largest economies?

The G7 is often referred to as the group of the world's largest economies, but that is no longer the case.

It was, when the group was originally formed as the G6 in 1975. The members were the United States and Japan plus Germany, Britain, France and Italy. Canada was added a year later.

Economic power has shifted markedly since then.

Now only five of the G7 members are among the top seven economies. The US is at number 1, with Japan at 3, Germany 4, Britain 5 and France 6.

China has the world's second-largest economy and India the seventh. Italy follows in eighth place, with Brazil in ninth and Canada 10th.

Last update: Wed, 25/05/2016 - 11:33


Seven essential things to know about the G7


Monday, May 23, 2016 - 04:05

More from World

EU-Canada summit gets green light despite trade deal setback

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau will travel to Brussels for an EU-Canada summit despite resistance in the...

ICC: South Africa, Burundi withdrawal "watershed moment" for justice

The African continent experienced a "watershed moment" for justice after South Africa and Burundi announced their...

Nine shot dead in Central African Republic during protests

Nine people were shot dead in the volatile Central African Republic on Monday, hospital sources said, as hundreds of...

Kurds fend off Islamic State attacks as Baghdad-Ankara spat continues

Kurdish forces on Monday said they fended off two attacks by Islamic State fighters in northern Iraq as Turkish and...

One killed, 100 injured in South Africa train collision

One person was killed and about 100 injured Monday when two passenger trains collided head-on in South Africa, the...