Organization of Islamic Cooperation

The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) comprises 57 countries in which more than 1 billion Muslims live, and aims to promote Islamic solidarity.

The members of the conference represent many differing opinions in matters of international politics and the interpretation of Islam.

The organization was established in the Moroccan city of Rabat on September 25, 1969. It operated under the name Organization of the Islamic Conference until it decided to change its title to the current one in 2011.

The member states "decided to pool their resources together, combine their efforts and speak with one voice to safeguard the interests and ensure the progress and well-being of their peoples and those of other Muslims the world over," the OIC says on its website.

The group aims to strengthen the community of Islamic believers, known as the "umma," in the fight for security and to increase its cooperation with non-member countries.

The organization is based in the Saudi city of Jeddah and normally meets every three years in a summit.

Last update: Mon, 07/03/2016 - 11:02

More from World

US State Department releases more Clinton emails

The US State Department on Friday released 112 emails from Hillary Clinton's email account that had been recovered...

Cyberattack downs major websites; US investigating

Major internet sites including Twitter, Paypal, Netflix and Spotify were offline in parts of the US and Europe...

Burkina Faso foils coup attempt, minister says

Burkina Faso's government has foiled a coup attempt involving the former presidential guard, a senior government...

Aid workers: No "security guarantees" to move wounded from Aleppo

Aid workers said they lack the necessary "security guarantees" to evacuate the wounded from rebel-held eastern...

Canada: Efforts to resolve impasse over EU trade deal failed

Canadian Trade Minister Chrystia Freeland says it appears "impossible" to conclude a free trade deal with the...